Sandwich shop owner sues City of Belleville for fines over posted sign



KMOV News

A Metro East storefront is now at the center of a federal lawsuit after city officials told the owner a posted sign was illegal.

The owner of Pour Haus is suing the City of Belleville after officials told her to take down a sign that sarcastically thanks the city for turning down the her request for tax breaks to start up a sandwich shop.

“You’re allowed to put political statements anywhere you want and this is my business. It’s inside, it follows the sign ordinance, and therefore I’m not breaking any laws. You cannot stomp all over the constitution; Belleville or anybody else,” Dianne Rogge, the owner of Pour Haus, said.

Rogge told News 4, the City of Belleville has fined her $500 every day the sign stays up. The sign was placed in the storefront window on June 5; her fine is up to $31,000.

http://www.kmov.com/news/local/Sandwich-shop-owner-sues-City-of-Belleville-for-fines-over-posted-sign–218617451.html

2 thoughts on “Sandwich shop owner sues City of Belleville for fines over posted sign

  1. Surprise, surprise, KMOV left out the names and how to contact Belleville, IL, oath breakers. As well, KMOV left out the name of the corrupt prosecuting federal attorney.

    Belleville, IL, only has a population of ~ 44,500, yet has 19 elected public officials. Does this seem a LITTLE top heavy to anyone else? Plus, the only official salary to be listed publicly is that of the mayor.

    Mayor: Mark Eckert, 618-233-6518 x 1239, meckert@belleville.net

    City Clerk: Dallas Cook, 618-233-6518 x 1227, dbcook@belleville.net

    City Treasurer: Dean Hardt, 618-233-6518 x 1214, treasurer@belleville.net

    Ward 1:
    Michael Heisler, 618-277-3304, mdheis2000@yahoo.com
    Ken Kinsella, 618-234-0825, kenkinsella483@gmail.com

    Ward 2:
    Melinda Hult, 618-235-1520, auntminda@sbcglobal.net
    Janet Schmidt, 618-416-3533, janetkayschmidt@charter.net

    Ward 3:
    A. ‘Gabby’ Rujawitz, 618-235-5077
    Kent Randle, 618-239-9227, kent.randle@yahoo.com

    Ward 4:
    Johnnie Anthony, 618-825-0660, janthony31@charter.net
    Jim Davidson, 618-398-1781, jjd61750@gmail.com

    Ward 5:
    Phillip Silsby, 618-257-1524, psilsby@yahoo.com
    Joseph W. Hayden, 618-234-8956, joehayden9@yahoo.com

    Ward 6:
    Paul Seibert, 618-233-3917, paulseibert31@yahoo.com
    Bob White, 618-558-7030, ward6@bellevilleweb.com

    Ward 7:
    Trent Galetti, 773-742-5865, trenton73@msn.com

    Ward 8:
    James Musgrove, 618-233-3967, jamusg@charter.net
    Joe Orlet, 618-394-0661, josephorlet@charter.net

    Alderman at Large: Lillian Schneider, 618-234-7569, lillian.schneider@att.net

  2. 🙂 🙂 Thanks Enbe,
    I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow! Harassing treasonous scum in Belleville, IL!!!! It’s going to be a glorious day!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published.


*